An Experiment in Browns and Teals

We’ve all read the articles: Make Your Eyes Look Brighter! What Eye Shadows Are Best For Your Eye Colour? Best Colours For Your Eyes! It seems everyone has a different opinion on how to brighten and accentuate blue or green eyes, but as a brown-eyed girl I often feel a little gipped. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good gold shadow, but to make my brown eyes pop am I really doomed to an existence of varying brown and bronze shadows?

In my experience as a makeup artist, I’ve found one of my favourite ways to compliment an eye colour is to use its natural complimentary tone. But if brown is a blend of all primary colours on the colour wheel, that doesn’t really work for brown eyes. Instead, I started to examine the undertones of the eyes themselves–browns can be lighter, darker, warmer, cooler, contain flecks of other shades that can be played up or down.

For years, I considered my eyes too dark to have any sort of dimension. I saw my brown eyes as flat and boring, an ugly sort of muddy shade that I wanted to distract people from rather than accentuate. I would wish I’d been born with grey eyes, or green eyes, or even eyes slightly more hazel–anything but the eyes I had. As I got older and realized that was simply never going to happen, I tried to make them appear more amber, more red, more gold, or more olive by altering the colours I wore around them.

Here, I chose blue-toned teals and turquoises to bring out the warmer orange tones in the brown. I also replaced my usual black winged liner with a smokier cream shadow to keep the focus on my iris.

I was shocked at how clear and bright my eyes looked that day. I looked more awake and my eyes looked bigger. But most importantly, I felt like my eyes actually looked pretty.

Full list of products used:

  • Detrivore Cosmetics Primer
  • Detrivore Cosmetics Eyeshadows in Ossuary and Languid
  • Innocent+Twisted Alchemy Eyeshadows in Silent Jealousy and Endless Rain
  • Chanel Illusion D’Ombre Long Wear Luminous Eyeshadow in Mirifique (liner)
  • Urban Decay Lush Lash Mascara

In the future, I definitely plan to experiment with different colours in order to compare the effect they have on the colour of my eyes. Maybe having brown eyes isn’t such a terrible fate after all…

Brown-eyed girls– what shades do you use to accentuate your eyes? What colours should I test in the future?

3 comments on “An Experiment in Browns and Teals

  1. […] Ghost at Bella Canterella has started what will hopefully be a really neat series of posts about eyeshadow colors to wear when your eyes are brown- something many blogs and magazines overlook! […]

  2. Kathline Paullus says:

    Brown eyes are very common among asian people but those caucasians with brown eyes are really cute and good looking too. Take for example Leighton Meester, she is really pretty. ;.,.*

    Kindest regards http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>

  3. DarlingMisfit says:

    I have brown eyes too and I feel like red and reddish brown eyeshadows complement our eye color better than they do blue eyes or green eyes. I don’t wear them often enough though, mostly because I feel like my skin has to be nearly flawless to wear red eyeshadows well.

Leave a Reply

